Hicks Morley Moot Competition

Hicks Morley is committed to supporting the education and development of the next generation of leading human resources law practitioners.


Each year, traditionally in March or early April, Hicks Morley hosts a moot competition at participating Ontario law schools. In addition to giving students an opportunity to hone their skills, the moot provides participants with an occasion to network with students from other law schools and with practising lawyers.

During the competition, students work in teams of two and present the appeal or judicial review of a decision arising out of the field of labour and employment law. The moot scenarios focus on timely, topical issues, and are designed to encourage participants to critically engage with issues that arise in our areas of practice.

Hicks Morley’s lawyers judge the moot competitions and score competitors based on the quality of their legal arguments, which includes organization, clarity, research, persuasiveness and elegance, as well as on their presentation, which includes presence, style, the ability to respond well to questions and a familiarity with facts and legal policy issues.

Following the in-school preliminary rounds, the winning teams move forward to compete in the moot final, which is held at our Toronto office. After the competition, we host a celebratory reception where students have the opportunity to meet members of the firm.

Moot Objectives

By the end of the moot competition, teams will:

  • Make oral arguments in front of Hicks Morley lawyers
  • Receive feedback based on the quality of their legal arguments
  • Respond effectively to rebuttal
  • Learn techniques on presentation

Learn helpful tips from our lawyers and past participants, check out moot dates and see who our past winners have been.